way off in music world today

It’s astounding to me that I’ve been so depressed/fucked-up (as in dope) that I haven’t played a single note of music for somewhere in the four to five year range. It’s what I do for Christ’s sake. Always have. Haven’t always practiced a lot, but I like practicing a whole lot when I’m in my right mind. Anyway, today I’ve been getting reacquainted with the musical me.

I’ve given in completely to the crazy schedule. I was up at 1:30 this morning. I was back up a little after 8. I’ve felt better as the day has worn on. It seems to me, at least now, that it’s not so much a question of when I get up as of when I go to bed. Bed time, right now, is after midnight. Period.

I’ve been entertaining thoughts of what I might do, in the way of work, to keep from living under the bridge. Like all immature, irresponsible people, I’ll opt for school every time if it postpones that most awful of four letter words — WORK. (Not that all non-traditional students are i and i. I know I am though, and I know I’m rarely the only anything.) With that in mind I’ve been thinking about letting the government pay for me to go back to school. I don’t want to go mind you. But I don’t want to manage the toy department at Target either. Are any of you folks in education? (I know a couple of you are, or are aspiring to be.) What I’m wondering is if there is a school system in the country desperate enough to hire a disreputable 50 something? I hate kids. But changing fan belts for minimum wage at Wal-Mart is even less appealing than a room full of fat, bored youngsters. Is it even remotely possible that if I do the education-work, that I might actually land a teaching gig? I’m not a felon or anything. Just a non-violent fuck-up. How might I investigate the possibility? It would suck to a teacher and not be able to teach. That would probably qualify me to clean out the monkey cages at the zoo, if I had a masters, but not much else. Hmmm.

I’m thinking about killing my neighbor. That mother-fucker has been on a drunk, with a bunch of his buddies, or over 24 hours straight now. I’ve always made excuses for him to Mom. Hell, he’s my kind of people. But I hate people like me. We make shitty neighbors. I’m thinking a chunk of metal and a sheet metal hammer might be in order. When he’s hungover and wants to know what in the fuck I’m doing at first light, I’ll just tell him “I’m straightenin’ out this piece of steal”.

3 Responses to “way off in music world today”


  1. 1 titaniumrose August 2, 2008 at 7:15 am

    All I can speak for is how it is here in NE, so take this with that caveat. First, you’d need to get a Bachelor’s degree in Education – either Elementary or Secondary (think grades k-6 or 7-12) which will take you about 4 or 5 years going to school full time. Then once you have your certification you can apply for a teaching position. Around here there’s a shortage of teachers so they’re pretty much always hiring. You could also opt to substitute teach – that way you wouldn’t have to necessarily work every single day. Anyway, that’s a brief overview. Let me know if you’ve got questions – I’ll be happy to try to answer them. I almost went the teacher route, you know.

  2. 2 titaniumrose August 2, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    BTW – I’ve given you a little award over on my blog.

  3. 3 ozymandiaz September 15, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Hell, some of my favorite teachers were consummate fuck-ups. One or two were even violent.
    Good motivation to answer the teacher correctly.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

