shocked system

It’s about half past noon and my body doesn’t know what to think about being put through the old walking paces first thing. My appetite is way up. I took a nap for almost an hour and a half and could probably do another two hours or so in the trap (if I didn’t want to sleep tonight.)

I was sort of expecting to cruise through the day with flying colors. After all, hasn’t exercise helped, or at least seemed to, in the not-too-distant past? Didn’t the psych nurse strongly encourage me to get up and get moving in order to feel better? I was expecting the results in real time. It’s not working out quite like that. So it may take some time to adjust to what is pretty close to torture for me these days — getting up and getting out first thing. Maybe, if after a couple of weeks I’ve lost a couple of pounds or so, I’ll become energized.

3 Responses to “shocked system”


  1. 1 titaniumrose July 30, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Yeah, I don’t believe all that bullshit about exercise first thing in the morning. Of course, I don’t believe much in exercise at all and look at where it’s gotten me. But anyway, I think the main goal is to get up and get moving every day at roughly the same time and do roughly the same thing and your body will adjust in a positive way to the changes. I know that if I break my “get up at 6:30, get cleaned up and dressed, take pills, eat, start day” routine for more than just the weekend I get all kinds of messed up when I have to get back to the routine. But hey, if getting out and walking first thing is what’s right for you then by all means, keep on keepin’ on with it. I’ll save my motivation for hauling my ass into work and putting in my 9+ hours of torture that way.

  2. 2 patientanonymous July 30, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Hey there, I know…haven’t been by in a while so I skipped back a few pages and tried to get caught up a bit?

    I’ve never been a big fan of exercise simply because I’m just a total, lazy sod anyway. *rolls eyes*

    However, I think the “benefits” may not kick in for a while if you are going to experience them. Even when I’ve done anything that remotely resembles “high impact,” I’ve never felt something like an adrenaline rush. Some people claim to have felt that. Maybe my receptors just don’t work in that way? And yet, I have heard that others who have diagnoses say that exercise helps.

    Hmmm.

    titaniumrose mentioned routine. I know that has always been very important to me. I’m not sure how you feel about that–if it’s been important to you in the past and if so, has a break in it caused you problems. What do you think?

  3. 3 Angry Ballerina July 31, 2008 at 9:07 am

    One step two step, three step four. Kick that nurse in the teeth, and watch her spit them out on the floor!


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

