decent day in spite of the blues

It’s been a decent day for me in spite of low energy and depressed mood. I managed to do the prep work for supper tonight. Vacuumed part of the house. Washed a load of clothes and even put them away. And played and sang for two or three hours.

I spoke with the psych nurse and she wants me to try forcing myself onto a schedule so that I can get up and walk before the arrival of the hellish heat. I’ve decided to give it a go. I’m going to set my alarm and fully intend to get up and drag my fat ass around the neighborhood for as long as I can hold out. It can be unbelievably uncomfortable even then down here. It actually seems to get hotter at night as the humidity builds. Anyway, it’s either that or drive to the mall or a local church she told me about to walk indoors.

She’s also pushing me to look into some volunteer work, as are some of you my fair readers. I’ll look into it. I can’t imagine doing it, but who knows? The nurse mentioned the library. There are women coming and going there, so I might actually bump into one. Maybe I’d start reading again if I was around books some of the time. Or writing…

I don’t know. I do know it’s blazing hot down here. And the humidity. Fuck. My fantasy about moving out west in again in full bloom. I don’t even think desert heat could be as miserable as the swamp’s.

3 Responses to “decent day in spite of the blues”


  1. 1 titaniumrose July 29, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    I’m glad someone had a decent day. I had a setback of sorts. I won’t bore you with details here, but I’m going to try to post about it yet tonight before I crash. And I still think the volunteer work IS a good idea for you, for lots and lots of reasons.

  2. 2 misterbooks July 30, 2008 at 5:16 am

    Maybe you could suit up in a Mcgruff the crime dog outfit and go visit elementary schools and hit on the single teachers there?

  3. 3 bomarzo August 1, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    It’s funny you should mention this early morning prognosis situation. I have been having the exact experience the last couple weeks. Immediately upon waking, I am either severely despondent or only vaguely dysphoric, and it seems to accurately predict the remainder of the day. Also… THIS HEAT IS RIDICULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

