words to the wise (or “stupid is as stupid does”)

Sometimes if you don’t feel like doing something, don’t do it.

In an attempt to delete my categories so that I can rework them from scratch, I managed to delete an entire page of posts. (Back to 7/16). Fortunately, and for reasons that completely escape me, I’d exported an xml file earlier in the day. It had everything on it, thank god. It also had a bunch of duplicate shit on it, I assume from where I went back and corrected glaring grammar or spelling errors. So, for the last 40 minutes I’ve been deleting duplicate content. (The search engines despise duplicate content.)

At any rate, I got off light. I had to trust that the top duplicate post was in fact the final post on the “Manage Posts” page. No way in hell I was going back and re-read all that shit. Anyway. That’s what happened. I think I’ll wait on the category mission until the wheels turn and I’m a little more alert. Holy hell.

UPDATE: I just noticed that none of the comments in my sidebar link to the actual comment. Joy! Still, I dodged a bullet. If someone would leave me a test comment to this post, just so I can see if it’s an ongoing issue, I’d appreciate it.

2 Responses to “words to the wise (or “stupid is as stupid does”)”


  1. 1 titaniumrose July 23, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    This is a test comment. In the event of a real comment, words with real meaning would appear here. Do not be alarmed. These words can be ignored. Or some shit like that. :)

  2. 2 Greybeard July 23, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Thank you ma’am. The link to the actual comments have come back. But the personalized avatars are now gone. I guess that’s a trade up. Oh, and yeah, trendy’s awful important to me. A Fifi might be just what I need to get my life back on track. ;^/


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

