the therapy front

My therapist seems to want to me to want to talk about my stormy childhood relationship with my mother. I have no problem with that but I don’t quite understand what she wants me to do. So far she’s serving as a sort of comrade/sounding board but it’s possible things may start to get interesting in the coming months. I told her I wasn’t big on that pop psych John Bradshaw shit. I can’t imagine any of that making me anything but a different flavor of fucked up. I’m going to try and steer her more towards coping strategies for the now in as much as there’s no fixing things that would have needed addressing in another time when they were actually happening. Of course I’ll try whatever she wants. I just hope to avoid spending months and months not healing but dwelling on the shame that binds me.

1 Response to “the therapy front”


  1. 1 GentlePath July 17, 2008 at 8:36 am

    You know, I really railed against that dwelling-in-the-past shit in therapy. Later, I came to see how my resistance was because it really hurt to be rigorously honest about it.

    Now, I find that I’m able to forgive where I couldn’t before, so I’m glad I had the courage and the therapeutic help I needed. But at the time, I thought it was all touchy-feely bullshit and the f*ing therapist out to take a gander at the 4th step and quit focusing on my “issues” with my mother and all that other psychobabble crap.

    It’s really strange how that worked. All that dwelling on the shame, as you put it was because I had my eyes closed and my hands over my ears, wanting to take personal responsibility for my own actions, not blame it on my childhood potty training or some such nonsense. I’m not saying this is your deal — but maybe it is.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

