and then…

I slept about three hours from 9 something to a little after noon. I don’t know if that’ll screw me tonight. Didn’t have much choice. The days of my being able to run on little to no sleep are long gone.

The allergist sent me some stuff to fill out and some propaganda to read as well. I guess they’re going to do that scratch test thing, if that’s how they still do it. Seems like they’d get a blood test perfected. They have decent serum tests for pet’s allergies. My head is hurting, of course, and feels very unnatural. My allergies were giving me fits with all the OTC shit. Now I’m really screwed.

The good news is that I’ve found yet another excuse to postpone the walking. Exercise is supposed to be good for allergies but it’s just not an option right now. A hot bath might be. Ice packs to my forehead and lower sinuses might be. Can’t think of to many other things I’d be interested in attempting.

So I’m getting a little extra training here at Hell’s Proving Ground. Maybe it’ll come in handy after I croak.

3 Responses to “and then…”


  1. 1 misterbooks July 10, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Fuck-adoodle-do. My wife had that allergy test done. I watched. It was torture for both of us. Pretty barbaric, poking people to see if there is a reaction to something. Hmmm…lets put dog dander under the skin and see what happens.
    And watch it, they’ll suggest that you get your nose polyps removed next…seems to go hand in hand with a visit to those guys.
    Peace,

  2. 2 titaniumrose July 10, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Yeah, I didn’t just get scratched, I got needled. It was kind of funny because they had to work around the tattoo on my back and then when those tests came up inconclusive and they moved on to my arms they had to work around the tattoo on my arm as well. I thought the little technician was gonna go cross eyed! It was unpleasant, but not unbearable. Though I do remember the week leading up to it with the no anti-histamines as being pretty damned rough. Hope you can hang in there a little longer. I’ll try sending some good vibes your way, m’kay? :)

  3. 3 Greybeard July 10, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    I’m actually looking forward to it. Had I had insurance I’d have done it years ago. I feel like I’ve been sick, to varying degrees, for the last 10 plus years. Untold trips to the quickie clinic for antibiotics and pain pills. They provided only very short-term relief.

    My frontal sinuses were eliminated when they put me back together after my motorcycle crash in 1980. The ENT that did the surgery told me that I’d never have sinus trouble in my life. Up until then, I never had. And I didn’t until the allergies kicked off in the mid-late 80s.

    It’s a recovery line but as far as my sinuses go “I’m sick and tired of being (and looking) sick and tired”.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

