five months

Today marks five months of continuous sobriety for me. I think that’s the longest I’ve gone since the early part of the decade. It’s definitely the longest I’ve gone without harboring some hope or plan of using again. Once the switch is thrown, sobriety is usually relatively easy for me. Of course the flipping of the switch is, for lack of a better explanation, an act of God. For most alcoholics and/or addicts it never gets flipped even once. I don’t know a single person from the life that has ever managed to stay sober more than a month or two. Most never even seriously consider it for more than the time it takes to heal up and collect another pay check. I don’t know why I’ve been blessed with so many second chances. Just very lucky I guess.

So far I’m relying on the four seconds a day plan described in my HOWTO Stay Sober page. I’m having a problem squaring my other mental issues with the crux of the program also described there. Uniqueness is the enemy of anyone trying to recover but those of us facing additional challenges really are different, if not unique. Nevertheless the program works if you want to stay sober and if you’ve got four seconds a day to devote to it. If you want to enjoy your sobriety you’ve almost certainly got more work to do. The four seconds plan, though, will get you to a place where you think clearly enough to make an informed decision.

(I mark the beginning of my current sobriety with the start of this blog, which was February 2, 2008. It started as a memoir. I was pretty sure I wasn’t long for this world. Somehow, rehashing all that horrible old shit served as a sort of first step and the switch was thrown for me yet again.)

8 Responses to “five months”


  1. 1 misterbooks July 2, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Congrats you blogging fool. It nice to see some posts like this, all positive and clear headed, I thought you were down for the count a couple times. But like the butterfly, you emerge with beautiful wings. Wings that are thoughts, comments, emotions, memories that you share with us. Thanks for sticking it through the 5 months, many of us are the better because of your victory. Keep on truking…

  2. 2 Greybeard July 2, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Thank you sir. I’m just plodding along. At least I have a chance at something similar to peace if I stay sober. Seems worth it, at least tonight. The trials, though, they are surely a comin’. An escape artist, allergic to reality sort such as me staying sober a day at a time should be all the evidence the discerning need that miracles are still happening.

  3. 3 titaniumrose July 2, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Congratulations dear man, I wish you peace on your journey towards the next five months, and the next five after that, and the five after that…

  4. 4 Greybeard July 2, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Let’s just take it a day at a time Ms. Rose. Any more than that and I’ll be adding anxiety to my repertoire of mental defects.

  5. 5 GentlePath July 2, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    I’m glad to hear you’re sober today!

    And the great thing about having a string of sober days is that your brain works better. I picture all those little dendrites doing pushups and jogging.

  6. 6 beartwinsmom July 3, 2008 at 10:43 am

    One day at a time, my dear friend. Sending you huge HUGS for this milestone. I am very, very proud of you. I know that you have endured much, and your strength is very inspiring.

  7. 7 Angry Ballerina July 5, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Congrats old man. You done good. And doing good. One day at a time and all that shit.

  8. 8 thestranger July 18, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Its been over year since I gave up my nastier habits. Its better on my pocketbook and health, and its nice to not to worry that cops will come busting down my door. I’ve been much better off since I surrounded myself with healthier friendships and things. Its good to know other people are doing the same… congrats! I didn’t enjoy the act of god that flipped my switch, but I guess it was for the best.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

