a little better

It’s amazing how therapeutic and the opposite of therapeutic music is for me. This morning I worked on the chords for several tunes, including the one I referenced in a recent post, and the net affect is that I went from feeling pretty terrible to feeling pretty good in just about two hours.

It probably doesn’t hurt that my grandmother is marginally better. Additionally, the Sis and her pack will be cutting out in less than 24 hours. All is well with the world.

I managed to figure out how to run some cheap speakers through my Mac and that is saving me somewhere between $50 and $100 bucks. The little on board speakers just aren’t loud enough to hear over or with a guitar and my singing. Additionally, I decided to hold off buying the inexpensive mic until I’ve got several songs ready to record. I’m leaning more and more towards a separate multi-track unit as opposed to GarageBand. We’ll see. I’m going to have to do some extensive reading on the subject. I’d just hate to invest lots of time on something that’s big-time proprietary as opposed to industry standard.

1 Response to “a little better”


  1. 1 Arkay June 16, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    I timed this good. Been ‘sick’ for a bit and not checking everyones writings daily. Nice to land here on some good (or at least better news). Really glad YOUR music is working for you (and you SING too!)

    Ah, reduction in family stress overload also a very good thing. And you’re reacting positively to just knowing you’ll have your own time again shortly (as opposed to several days afterwards). Sounds like you’re really on an overall better ‘track’ as it were.

    Will try and visit more frequently, as time allows (takes me a while to type things in for my blog, and that uses mucho internet time – something I have so little of)

    Take care ‘old-man’.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

