so far, so good

No blowups yet. Sis is relaxed and I suspect enjoying the opportunity to put off all responsibility for the maintenance of her kids on my mother. Mom lets her do it and I have no problem with the none-of-my-business thing. I someone wants to choke down a plate full of shit, who am I to tell them not to?

Rudy called. Claims he hasn’t smoked any crack in eight weeks. I’m thinking that eight hours might be a possibility. But eight days? Not likely. And eight weeks? With him getting drunk all the time in the meantime? Not a chance. Part of me sort of wants to go blow off some steam with him and his crew of undesirables. I’m jut not up to it physically. I honestly don’t think I’ve ever stayed sober simply because I wasn’t up for a bender, at least until now. I can feel the headache without even having to drink one of the inevitable 100 beers. Plus I like having a little money in my wallet. If I want to do something crazy, a good looking hooker and few days at a top-shelf hotel are all doable, and doable without chemical reinforcement. Am I getting better or just coming to terms with my diminished capacity for self-flagellation?

Anyway, so far so good. The kids aren’t near a horrible as I remember them being. I’ll give Sis a wide berth and Tuesday will be here in no time. (Yeah, that’s me whistling past the graveyard.)

0 Responses to “so far, so good”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

