weighing my options

And the first option is to smash that piece of shit Homedics digital bathroom scale into a zillion pieces. I weighed 166 at the doctors office a week ago today. I’ve walked at least once a day everyday in between. I’ve watched what I ate. And according to the POS scales I’ve packed on three pounds. Mom’s gained three pounds since last night. So until I can acquire some beam scales of find an alternative out in the world, the weight watch thing is suspended. I just don’t need to be this pissed off this early in the day this early in the week.

Gotta go out today for a couple of things. I need another fanny pack or some sort of low-end hydration kit that’ll keep my water and its condensation separate from my cell phone. I also need a case for the phone. Additionally my bedroom is starting to smell entirely too much like a high school locker room. I alternate my sweaty workout clothes every other day. It works great for having something dry to put on but not so much for keeping my room fresh. Some sort of room deodorizers are in order.

I’m thinking about checking out the berries, both blue and black this morning. Scooping up the dog crap and changing the plug in the Lawn Boy would also be productive things to do. Mostly, though, I’ll stew about the scales.

3 Responses to “weighing my options”


  1. 1 Arkay May 12, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Just as long as no one tries to weigh you with a duck on the other side of your beam scale (A Witch!), I’d go with that option. I’ve always been told to only use ONE scale to compare weight (it’s like all the different readings at different gas station air hoses), and to only measure first thing in the morning one you have ‘vacated’ yourself. Hey, maybe you just put on some muscle from all your trips into the outer world we all try to avoid. (I topped 218 the other day – an should be under 190 – so take pride in your <170).

  2. 2 bomarzo May 13, 2008 at 1:30 am

    Yes, calibrate to a single scale, and also weigh yourself at the same time everyday. Weight fluctuates throughout the day. You want to measure weight over a period of time, and plot the trend line to get a true estimate of calories burned and ongoing weight fluctuations.

  3. 3 angryballerina May 13, 2008 at 9:42 am

    I have to agree with bomarzo, your weight does fluctuate from day to day due to water retention and other factors. Keep up the good work, I know it’s hard to think positive when you see that shit, but you ARE going an excellent job, try and not get too discouraged and slip back into old habits.

    When all else fails, break that thing into a billion pieces, I suggest using a baseball bat.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

