something new in my life

I’m starting to get quite interested in poetry. Once upon a time I memorized a couple of Shakespeare’s sonnets but that was mostly about trying to impress a girl I was dating. Mostly I didn’t get it. To be honest, mostly still don’t. But there’s something stirring.

When my back took music from me it left a huge hole. I don’t even listen much anymore. It’s painful in the emotional sense. But an appreciation of poetry, and perhaps the willingness to try and develop what little talent for it I have, might begin to fill that void. It’s almost as if poems have tone and tempo. Maybe even chords. When done well they are really quite beautiful. Powerful in the way that a good song is. Saying in a few dozen words what it would take a talented prose writer dozens of pages to flesh out. Good stuff.

If my Internet connection cooperates and I get inspired I’ll be adding several cool poetry sites to my blogger buds page. I’d like to begin trying to write poems that were at least a little more than 10 minute and 50 word ditties typed out almost as jokes or games. On the other hand a good ditty can be catchy. There’s a lot to be said for catchy.

6 Responses to “something new in my life”


  1. 1 beartwinsmom May 8, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    I love poetry. That was one of the units I spent a lot of time on when I was a full-time teacher. There’s something about rhyme and meter that calms the soul.

  2. 2 misterbooks May 8, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Haiku. Poetry, and it blows my mind. Keats, freaking genius. Plath, great. Don’t forget Poe. I’m such a crappy poet, but I appreciate the beauty when the words and feelings match up just right. Go man go!

  3. 3 ozymandiaz May 8, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Don’t discount the ten minute breath. Most of the works I produce are created in breif manner. Then again, I have an extremely short attention span so if it doesn’t happen in that amount of time it is doomed. Whatever “it” is.
    Let me put it to you this way
    Dude
    Totaly water this garden. I have found within poetry a singular voice not present outside of itself.
    Wow
    thats kinda wierd to say
    but there it is.

    Write

  4. 4 johemmant May 9, 2008 at 5:09 am

    Well you know how I feel :grin

    Good words here. Sorry about the music, that is awful.

  5. 5 rick mobbs May 9, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    poetry is… everything, really. there is a good chance it will bring you back to music.

  6. 6 Greybeard May 9, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Poetry is fun for me right now because I don’t know enough to try and do it right. Music became fun for me when it became more than just an athletic exercise/display of chops. I began to truly enjoy it when I finally realized there was no right way. Everything, or most everything, I learned about music I learned from copying people. I hope I don’t fall into that trap in my poetry experiment.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

