nut don’t fall far from the tree

My mother and I are so different to be so much alike. I’m probably more like her than anyone else and don’t really understand the first thing about her.

Mom is a social butterfly of sorts. She loves to go and do. I hate it. Today we went shopping and I was again confronted with the glaring contrast in the two of us. By the time I was in my mid-20s I’d figured out if you act like you’re in charge, people tend to treat you that way. I mean, I’m not an asshole. I just stand up straight and speak distinctly. Look people right in the eye. If there’s a crowd I push on through because a crowd truly does make way for a man who knows where he’s going. Even though I’ve never had a clue where I was going, I’m very good at acting like I do.

Mom, on the other hand, wants to tip-toe around these retail hell-holes. She ssshhhs me at least once on every outing and I absolutely hate it. I mean, I’m not ranting. I’m speaking at a level where someone close by can hear and understand what I’m saying should they need or care too. Mom whispers. I have to ask her repeatedly what she’s trying to tell me. Tip-toes around like a mouse. It’s just so strange. I’m the hermit. She’s the one who’d go everynight if she could.

I asked her about it in the car. She told me she didn’t want folks to think she’s a blank. Blank being one our mutant relatives. I told her I didn’t care what they thought. I just want them to facilitate whatever so I can get the fuck away from them and there. Oh well.

3 Responses to “nut don’t fall far from the tree”


  1. 1 BPD in OKC April 27, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    My mom and I are alot alike. We have very similar personalities and sometimes we’re so much alike that it freaks me out.

  2. 2 sadjunkie April 29, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    I can relate. My mom and I are so different that I have trouble communicating with her. By contrast, my siste and my mom are EXACTLY alike. Which means they communicate great, but fight like crazy.
    Sometimes you can’t win with families.

  3. 3 Marissa Miller April 29, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    “Even though I’ve never had a clue where I was going, I’m very good at acting like I do.”

    lol – Wish I could pull that off.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

