almost-dead poet’s society

In AA it’s often said “all you need to start a new group is a resentment and a coffee pot”. The blogging equivalent might be something to the tune of “all you need to start a new blogger’s club is one nut with a graphics program”.

An off-hand comment seems to be taking on a life of its own. Several of us have decided that for whatever reason we want to form the ADPS (thanks niebla) or Almost-Dead Poet’s Society. I’m thinking to join you might utter something like this to yourself… “I’m in the ADPS” or whatever you feel like uttering or doing. To quit, you don’t have to do anything. You can be a member in complete anonymity. Or you can post some yet-to-be-designed-and-decided-upon emblem on your blog.

I am not an artist but I play one in the blogosphere. I’m armed with the gimp. I have no shame or pride left. I think everybody who wants to play and is equipped with a graphics program or pen, paper, and scanner and/or digital camera should play along. (Hat tip to Mr. Mobbs.) Ideally the thing needs to be small so those so inclined can add it to their sidebar or even header. I’m thinking 150px by 150px but there are no rules in the ADPS. (Except of course that there are no rules.)

What I propose is this: Anyone so inclined get to work on a logo, badge, emblem or whatever the hell you wanna call it. If words are your thing maybe a clever motto to go above, on, or below the thing. Let me know when you’re ready and I’ll post them all here and we’ll either vote on them or let angryballerina choose, whatever’s easiest.

If anyone expresses any interest in this, after some arbitrary time period we’ll put our heads together and decide on a submission and vote deadline. If no one wants to play then screw you. I’ll crown myself Captain-King of the ADPS and carry on without you.

9 Responses to “almost-dead poet’s society”


  1. 1 beartwinsmom April 27, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Y’know, that movie was one of the things that inspired me to be an English teacher. I identified with that movie so strongly, especially Neil’s character.

  2. 2 angryballerina April 27, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Uh, the pills have fucked with my head, like REAL bad, can you explain this to me again? No joke, I’m like wicked fucking confused here. i just read that like 8 times and its not making any sense.

  3. 3 Greybeard April 27, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Doesn’t make much sense does it? Consider the source. I’m sending you an email that probably won’t make any sense either.

  4. 4 angryballerina April 27, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Got it. I’m all fuzzy brained and shit. Stupid pills. I like the idea.

  5. 5 misterbooks April 27, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Rock and Roll!

  6. 6 lostwidow April 29, 2008 at 12:29 am

    i like the idea…
    ive linked here from a site of a site of a site, so
    hi! i’m Gez, a non professional writer with more stories than i could ever type…
    my change is this – do make it its own blog… =]

  7. 7 sadjunkie April 29, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    I like this idea (I hope I’m not intruding). I’m an occasional poet, occasional blogger, and a full time crazy person.

  8. 8 GentlePath April 29, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I loved that movie! But the almost-dead poets — would that be the gasping poets?


  1. 1 ADPS….poetry on the fly, from the gut. « Misterbooks’ Weblog Trackback on April 27, 2008 at 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

