oncoming traffic

Met/worked with the physical therapist this morning. I didn’t want to go of course. Before I’d gotten to the end of the block I realized I’d forgotten my sunglasses, sunscreen, and date book. It was cloudy and too late to turn back so I pushed ahead. Things went well. She is either a good listener or a good actress. After having me do a few stretches and a few of the exercises I do at home she decided I was getting better (more flexible) but that I was over-doing it. Imagine that? Me overdoing something.

So I feel better about my back and things in general. With the possible exception of my depression and addiction, my back problem is the thing that most concerns me health-wise. It’s benched me, so to speak. I’ve only been in the game intermittently since 2001 and none at all since summer 2005. Thems the breaks.

Coming home I was about a quarter mile from the house when I saw a turtle about as big around as one of those Frisbee disc golf things about to become road-kill. I swerved and missed him as did the guy behind me. The turtle had his head out I guess about as far as it would go. I don’t think turtles are smart enough to wonder what the hell is going on, but this one sure should have been. I thought about going home for the turtle extraction kit. It consists of a pair of gloves (because I don’t like handling the slimy creatures) and a wooden box that’s good for absolutely nothing but holding the dog’s outside toys and serving as a temporary brig for turtles. No time. I made a quick U-turn onto the service road and backtracked toward the reptile. Several cars and an 18-wheeler whizzed by as I made my way back to where I thought he was. I was sure he was smashed.

He wasn’t though. He’d made it to the curb and was in the process of turning about, I guess to cross back over the five lanes of traffic he’d just somehow managed to cross. I stopped the old “Made in the USA” POS I drive and couldn’t find the hazzard lights. Miraculously there wasn’t a car anywhere in site. So I scooped him up and headed for a creek behind the house where I put the turtles I extract from our yard, if they manage to survive the dogs.

He was pretty feisty for turtle so I decided to hold him rather than have him crawling around the car and causing me to crash. We hadn’t gone 100 yards when he oozed some sort of viscous turtle funk on my hand, leg, and the floorboard of the car. I was rebuking him when I realized he was a snapping turtle and that if I gave him half a chance he’d take a chunk out of me.

I didn’t and neither did he. I dropped him off a few feet into the woods right by the creek. Everybody and thing needs a lucky day now and then.

4 Responses to “oncoming traffic”


  1. 1 misterbooks April 10, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Karma! Something good will come out of this, not sure what the turtle funk was in the whole scheme of things, but man, this is some good Karma credit. If anything, you put a smile on my face.
    Thanks,

  2. 2 bomarzo April 11, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Reading this made me feel really positive, grateful even. I feel like animals are innocents, and in need of our protection. Thank you.

  3. 3 rick mobbs April 11, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Good for you! More people probably do this than we know. I patched one with fiberglass and epoxy and it lives now in a children’s museum in wilmington nc. I did rescue up a small snapper once… didn’t know how bad they smell until I brought it to the car.

  4. 4 Prester John April 11, 2008 at 8:34 am

    Not sure why but I take some small comfort in knowing that after all traces of our technology trumps all world have been wiped away the turtles will almost certainly still be here.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

