is brevity really beautiful?

Thursday is image prompt day at Rick Mobbs. I’m out of my league but I wanna play anyway…

The beautiful painting is Rick’s work. Click on the link above and there’s a link to a larger, higher resolution pic. The subsequent words, such as they are, are mine.

Before the winds and waters carved these cliffs and caverns

Before our forefathers built these walls

Before the birds soared

Or we were lured to our doom

There was Eternity

7 Responses to “is brevity really beautiful?”


  1. 1 misterbooks April 10, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    nice

  2. 2 rick mobbs April 10, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    I am so very glad you decided to play. One of the things I think is so neat about recovery is the energy that is suddenly available for creative and meaningful work. I’m not talking about work as in jobs, I mean as in the way we build ourselves, get to know ourselves, change ourselves and grow through PLAYING with words, images, dance, comedy, acting, writing, music. Whether we are being drawn to self expression by demons or angels might depend on the day in question but for me, I often don’t know what I think until I write it, I forget that a gift has to be given away to be kept alive and growing. If only we could remember that we are just big children. This one pretending he’s a policeman, this one pretending he’s a baker or president. Just play roles for big kids.

    I’m getting carried away and I’m trying to help my son with his math homework and we are both so right-brained… I like numbers when I see the patterns or when one just feels good but that’s hard to get across in words….

    so yeah, brevity is beautiful! I like your poem! I’ll post it after I put the kid to bed. Do more!!!

  3. 3 ozymandiaz April 11, 2008 at 7:51 am

    this brevity is
    wonderful play along

  4. 4 Prester John April 11, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Thanks for the encouragement guys.

    When I got sober, the first time, the thing that surprised me most (besides realizing most folks didn’t drink quite as much as I did) was discovering I liked to play. Everything from tennis to checkers was fun (again). Having fun with others doing something that wasn’t self-destructive was so foreign to me. It doesn’t come naturally either. No doubt it’s a very good thing.

    BTW, I looked a the “big pic” several times throughout the day yesterday. Closely, scouring the details as best I could with my untrained eye. I was thinking about a short-short story or perhaps a prose poem (if there is such a thing). Couldn’t come up with anything though. Then a few minutes after I’d laid down for the night, these few words popped into my head almost as is. Having just re-read oxymandiaz’s fine poem it’s pretty obvious I was influenced by it on some level. Either that, or perhaps Rick’s work connected to some sort of archetype, if that’s the right word, for some of us.

    Anyway, it was fun. Fun is good. Thank you.

  5. 5 rick mobbs April 11, 2008 at 9:48 am

    I can relate to your comment above. As to play, you come play with us anytime.

  6. 6 rick mobbs April 11, 2008 at 9:49 am

    and yeah, they’ll jump into your head fully formed sometimes. weird, huh? and wonderful when it happens…

  7. 7 Prester John April 15, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    ozymandiaz – Thanks for the encouragement. Somehow I let your comment slip through the cracks as far as a reply. I think I wanted to say something pithy and it got by me. I always do better when I keep it simple. I hope to spend some time at your site soon. Thanks again.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

