blog batteries recharged

After a few days of (mostly) offline, I think I’m ready to take another crack at this. I managed to get a few things done in the last couple of days. Not lots. But some. I also managed to catch up on some other reading I’ve been neglecting.

What do y’all think of the new wordpress.com dashboard? For the most part I like it. The categories being at the bottom of the Write Post page seems cumbersome. Otherwise, no complaints here. The open source community is so cool!

4 Responses to “blog batteries recharged”


  1. 1 adlawrence April 7, 2008 at 8:25 am

    I took a couple of days off myself and then, like you, encountered the new format when logging on yesterday. I am happy to hear that you like it. For me it was a bit jarring. It’s not that I mind it – just an example of my general response to change I suppose. If I don’t know it’s coming, and haven’t agreed prior – most likely I am not going to be ‘on board’ from day one. However I am happy to know that it has been well received by many and my guess is that I will quickly catch up.

    Glad to have you back ;-)

  2. 2 GentlePath April 7, 2008 at 8:39 am

    I like it better, but it’s taken conscious effort since I didn’t get to prepare or choose. I hate feeling powerless over dashboard.

  3. 3 Prester John April 7, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I can’t figure out if they’ve done away with the spellchecker of if it just appears as needed. It still underlines my mistakes but I can’t seem to find the button to click to show me my spelling options.

  4. 4 bomarzo April 7, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    I dislike the new dashboard, and I did anticipate the change (just wasn’t sure when). Spellcheck is malfunctioning but being worked on, word count is absent but I am told will be re-implemented (they forgot to include it), comment moderation no longer points to what entry each comment was on, many folks are having browser compatibility issues with adding links, etc, etc, etc. A slew of bugs, but Automattic seems to be working on them, despite a dirth of communication from them. They were speedy to address the things I pointed out on the support forum. Overall usability has decreased IMHO. Design-wise, it feels (and looks) like a downgrade. But, I’m coming from four years of running a self-hosted ExpressionEngine blog where I had complete control over all aspects. WP.com is free, so I have no problem continuing to use it.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

