spilt milk

Had I not relapsed nearly six years ago, yesterday would have been the 13th anniversary of my getting sober. Had I not relapsed in ’93, I’d have turned 18 back in February. As it stands now I’m probably at about 60 days, but consider my sobriety date February 2 since that’s when I started this blog and began to realize what a fool I was. It’s all for the best. Having a sobriety date on the first day of spring is too glamorous for a guy like me. Ground Hog’s Day is much more appropriate.

Yesterday on my walk a young dude I know stopped me and we chatted for awhile. I’d met him years back when we both worked at the Pizza Place. He was way off into bluegrass music and came over a couple of times and I showed him a few things on the guitar. (I’m a decent bluegrass guitarist, a good banjoist, and competent rock guitarist. Or was. Haven’t touched an instrument, other than my mother’s piano, in some four years. Desire gone.) He’s a nice kid and even though I’m twice his age, we have a good bit in common. He had some kind bud and offered to turn me on. I told him I was in recovery and a little bit about why. He volunteered that one of his uncles is a 60 year old crack head and in jail at this very moment and another uncle is a crack binger who will blow the mortgage money on rocks several times a year. God damn.

2 Responses to “spilt milk”


  1. 1 Gabriel... March 21, 2008 at 7:21 am

    Dude, sixty days is sixty Good days. Congratulations and here’s to another day.

  2. 2 lydiacharlotte March 21, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    A 60 year old crack head is frightening to consider. And it shows how important today is in that it doesn’t matter all that much what went before, if today you’re buying crack and your family is suffering.

    If I had gotten sober my first try, I’d have 30 years this year, and I’m 46 years old. I doubt I could have done it then, even though I will tell young people that no one is too young. As it is I stopped just before I turned 23, and my sobriety blessings include two sobriety babies who are 20 and 22 years old. That is so awesome, yet I can still regret that I drank all the way through college. I got it when I got it.


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

