me and exercise

I ran across this article, Low-intensity Exercise Reduces Fatigue, and it tends to support what most of us already know; exercise makes us feel much better. Walking works well for me. I enjoy it, once I get going, and I guess I’m lucky in that respect. I almost certainly wouldn’t do it for health reasons alone, or just to lose weight. The nice boost I get from it, though, along with the afore mentioned benefits, makes it doable even for someone as lazy as me.

Exercise won’t prevent my depressive episodes. It may make them less miserable, but I’m not sure how to measure something like that. But exercise, along with the SSRIs and whatever the heck Welbutrin is, are an excellent combination. Since I live in a very warm climate, it’s easy for me to exercise fairly frequently. I’m not big on advice, but I would encourage pretty much anybody to seriously consider finding a way to get some regular exercise. It’s wonderful stuff.

Years ago, before I hurt my back, I was running five days a week. It wasn’t easy. When I started I couldn’t make it more than a 100 yards or so. My stamina built up quickly though, and before long, and in spite of having to ice my knees and ankles after every run, I was feeling so good that I actually looked forward to running. That is way out of character for me. But the proverbial runner’s high, along with 100 mg of Zoloft, put me in an absolutely wonderful place, mood wise. The effect is diminished from walking instead of running, but it’s still very noticeable.

So find a way to do it. Start very slowly. There’s nothing worse than hurting yourself and getting discouraged right off the bat. If your results are anything like those I’ve experienced, it’ll be a habit for you in no time.

2 Responses to “me and exercise”


  1. 1 Nusku... March 2, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    I was reading that article earlier. In the past, when I’ve hit the gym for a bit, I’ve noticed it helped quite a lot with my state of mind too – trouble is I always fell off the exercise wagon after a few weeks,
    Still, perhaps I’ll try again

  2. 2 Rob N. March 2, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Nusku,

    I hear ya. I haven’t been faithful to my walking regimen over the winter. I was especially bad late last year and put on nine pounds! I’ve lost some of that back though. And I just feel so much better. I think we make too much off falling off the wagon. As long as we learn something and get back on, what’s the big deal?

    Rob


Leave a Reply

My Other Site

If you're interested in reading a fairly detailed account of addiction and depression, Cracked Head Memoirs might be for you. It basically tells how it was and what happened. Writing it helped me go from active addiction to recovery yet again.

Favs Page

Cool blog posts I've discovered. It's a sort of greatest hits collection.

Archives

email me …

crackedheadblog AT G mail DOT com

